How Great Thou Art

 

Carl Gistav Bpberg

Carl Gustav Boberg, born August 16, 1859 and died in 1940,  in Sweden.  He was well known as a poet and an elected official in Sweden.  He was best known for the poem called “O Store Gud” or O great God.  The poem translated into English is “How Great Thou Art”.

Boberg, who lived in Monsteras, Sweden wrote the poem in 1885 and the music was a traditional Swedish tune.  Later it was translated into German and then Russian where it became a hymn. It was translated into English by Stuart K. Hine, an English missionary who added two additional verses of his own.  The hymn became popular when it was used by George Bererly Shea and Cliff Barrows during the Billy Graham Crusades.

“How Great Thou Art was chosen as the favorite hymn in BBC’s Songs of Praise and Today’s Christian magazine in 2001 as the number two hymn in the United States behind “Amazing Grace.

Listen to How Great Thou Art here:

 

About Pat Gaines

I am a retired county officer, working 22 years in county government. At this point in my life I work with my children and grandchildren, teach an adult Sunday school class, travel when I can, do a little writing, watch lots of movies and try to enjoy my life with my husband, family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.